With England now out of the Euros, what better time to welcome the Premier League back than with the FA Community Shield?

The annual FA Community Shield competition takes place on August 7th 2016, meaning that the Premier League is back!

Manchester United, as 15/16 FA Cup winners, will play Leicester City, who won the 15/16 English Premier League.

Brief History:

The FA Community Shield – formerly known as the FA Charity Shield – was founded in 1908, replacing the Sheriff of London Charity Shield. The first team to win the competition was Manchester United, beating Queens Park Rangers 4-0 in a replay, after a 1-1 draw. This was the only Community Shield fixture that has ever be replayed due to a draw.

With many changes over the years, the format we know today was first chosen in 1921. This saw the FA Community Shield competed for between the winner of the First Division (now Premier League) and the winner of the FA Cup. When both the First Division and FA Cup competitions had been won by the same team, the FA would select a team to fill the free space. This would typically be the team who finished second in the First Division, however there have been a few exceptions over the years.
community Shieldfacommshueld-1407589104


Manchester United:

The Red Devils have participated in 29 FA Community Shield matches to date, with this being their 30th.

In 29 appearances, Manchester United have won the competition a record 20 times. Their most recent triumph came in 2013 as Premier League winners, against FA Cup winners, Wigan Athletic. Coincidentally, this was also David Moyes’ first competitive game as Manchester United manager and also the first time the Scot had won a trophy as a Premier League manager

Nemanja Vidic of Manchester United lifting the Community Shield in 2013.
Manchester United celebrating their 2013 FA Community Shield 2-0 victory over Wigan Athletic.

Leicester City:

Leicester City on the other hand have only participated in the FA Community Shield on one occasion – defeating Liverpool 1-0. The story behind this fixtures existence is quite unusual as far as the competition goes.

Leicester City v Liverpool – 1971 FA Charity Shield official Programme.

Arsenal won the double in the 1970/71 season, winning both the First Division and the FA Cup. This would typically lead to Arsenal facing an ‘FA selected’ side to compete for the Shield, however, the Gunners had already booked and been contracted to a pre-season tour, which clashed with the fixture.

Liverpool, who were FA Cup runners up the previous season, were selected to take the place of the ‘FA Cup winners’ slot and Leicester City, who had won the Second Division the previous season, were selected to replace the ‘Division One winners’.

Leicester City triumphed over Liverpool 1-0 and to this day hold a 100% record in Community Shield fixtures.


2016 FA Community Shield:

Manchester United return to the competition for the fourth time this decade, with a third-different manager. Jose Mourinho, who replaced Louis Van Gaal in the summer, takes the reigns at Wembley in what will also be his first competitive game in charge. Previously, Manchester United have been led out by Sir Alex Ferguson (twice) and David Moyes.

Leicester City’s Claudio Ranieri, who was replaced by Jose Mourinho as Chelsea boss in 2004 has never played at Wembley, or, like his playing staff, participated in the FA Community Shield; so this in turn will be a first for himself and all of his players.

With both managers still looking at improving their squads before the transfer window closes, this fixture could be a final audition for some players to prove their worth.

The FA Community Shield will be Leicester City’s first visit to Wembley since the year 2000. Can the Foxes kick-off their title-retention season with a Wembley win or will Jose Mourinho claim his first competitive Trophy as Manchester United manager?

LCFC PL Trophy
Leicester City celebrating winning the 2015/2016 English Premier League